Faculty of 1000

Post-publication peer review

Eight f1000 Faculty Members elected to Institute of Medicine

Posted by rpg on 1 December, 2009

We’d like to congratulate the new members and foreign associates of the US National Academy of Sciences’ Institute of Medicine (IOM). Election to the IOM is considered one of the highest honours in the fields of health and medicine, and recognizes individuals who have made major contributions to the advancement of the medical sciences, health care and public health.

In particular, we salute the following f1000 Faculty Members:

We hope that you will join us in wishing them well with their new role.

I’m pleased to see Russ Altman on this list. As you may or may not know, Russ won the Science Blogging Challenge 2008; a competition I devised for Nature’s London Science Blogging Conference to get ‘senior’ scientists blogging. His (ex-)student, Shirley Wu, is an excellent and established blogger in her own right.

Back to the IOM:

“It is a great pleasure to welcome these distinguished and accomplished individuals to the Institute of Medicine,” IOM President Harvey V. Fineberg said,

“Each of these new members stands out as a professional whose research, knowledge, and skills have significantly advanced health and medicine and who has served as a model for others. The Institute of Medicine is greatly enriched by the addition of our newly elected colleagues.”

The Institute of Medicine was established in 1970 by the National Academy of Sciences and is unique in its structure as both an honorific membership organization and an advisory organization, and is internationally recognized as a resource for independent, scientifically informed analysis and recommendations on health issues.


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

%d bloggers like this: