Faculty of 1000

Post-publication peer review

That’s the way

Posted by rpg on 1 October, 2009

One of the great things about my job is that I see into many aspects of the publishing juggernaut that is Faculty of 1000. So not only am I privy to what Sales and Marketing get up to (this morning, for example, they were making up new words to Christmas Carols*), but I can also poke the orc-driven cogs of Isengard.

Or ‘Development’, as we call it in-house.

Hidden deep within the SNG intranet are a couple of wikis, which we use to keep each other informed, and collaborate on documents, etc. I discovered the Development wiki a couple of weeks ago, and while most of it is full of fascinating tips on how to use Velocity Macros to stop dirty little hobbits from throwing spanners into the fires of Barad-dûr, there’s the occasional gem such as

XML is like violence: if it’s not solving all your problems, you’re not using enough of it.

I just thought I’d share that with you.

* Sorry, I can’t say ‘Christmas’. It should be ‘Seasonal Carols’.

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
